Life With Boys

Posted on: January 21, 2009

When I thought of myself as a mom, I never did think of myself as a “boy” mom. I really thought I would have girls. It is what I knew. I didn’t really hang out with a lot of boy relatives nor did I have any brothers. I just didn’t know what to do with boys. Well, God has taught me a lot in the last five years of raising little boys.

Some things that aren’t a part of my life:

1. Pink
I’m betting my boys don’t even know what the color pink looks like.

2. Tea Parties
Again, I’m pretty sure the boys have no clue. I would also guess they’d have no interest unless it involved donuts and swords.

3. Frilly Dresses and Bows
God knew that I would be the kind of girl to dress my little girl in frilly dresses and bows. Seriously, how can you resist a little girl all decked out for church? Of course, my boys (and Aaron) wouldn’t go for that. Unless you count the “man dress”. Jack and Luke dawned that look for awhile. Very stylish.

4. Fruity Drinks
Yeah, apple juice rules around here. Don’t try to bring in some prissy “pomegranate raspberry punch” crap. We just don’t put up with it.

5. Dolls
Now, there is a difference between a doll and a “man doll”. A doll is some frilly little thing that may possibly pee and poop which is not cool in the world of boy (or most moms for that matter). A “man doll” is something that is about the size of a human child that does not have any bodily functions. Its purpose is to hold when life gets rough (say after a little boy realizes that the kid his mom and dad brought home from the hospital ain’t goin’ back) or to launch it off the bed and cause a round of laughter.

Titles I hold after being a boy mom:

1. Defeater of All Tough Game Levels
Got a jump you can’t make? Give it to mom. Got a level that the bad guy keeps killing you? Give it to mom. Apparently, mom can defeat more than just dust and cobwebs. She can beat up on a bunch of bad guys, rock out at Rock Band and sip a cup of coffee without messing up her hair…much.

2. Ultimate Train Track Builder
Seriously, I think every boy mom has a spot in their brain strictly for train track building. This spot can also include legos, lincoln logs and race tracks. However, this spot in your brain only clicks on after you’ve been pregnant with a boy.

3. Master Finder of All Misplaced Items
“I can’t find my shoes. I can’t find my coat. I can’t find the mustard.” All these phrases find their way into my home on a daily basis. What do I do? Find it. In record time. Why? Because God has given me the ability to see beyond two feet in front of me and one foot on each side of me.

4. Lover of Boy Cartoons
Now, let’s be specific. I’m not talking Thomas the Train or Go Diego Go cartoons. I’m talking BOY cartoons. Scooby Doo, Smurfs Batman, Phineas and Ferb (fave!) to name a few. Over Christmas, the boys and I watched Camp Rock with my sweet nieces. After 30 minutes, Jack gave me a look of utter despair and requested to go take a nap. Yep, that bad.

5. Enjoyer of the Testosterone Relaxant
This one isn’t a commonly-known term, but it does exist. See, get two or more boys together, and there will be chaos. There will be mischief. There will be some sort of violence. However, testosterone has this amazing effect on me. It relaxes me. I get more mellow and don’t stress as much. Now, I still have my (monthly) moments, but I’m pretty cool for the most part. I really do believe it. I need to find a way to bottle it up and sell it. Or maybe just loan out my boys more often to let others reveal in the relaxant. 🙂

9 Responses to "Life With Boys"

I know the feeling. I had two boys before my girl, and while I love to play with them, it takes some time learning how they like to play “boy” things or how boys think. That’s where my other child, my husband, comes in handy 😉

Well, my sis-in-law [also a mom of 2 boys with same age distance apart as yours] would most likely agree.

On the pink thing, I understand. Elisabeth’s obsessively pink; Brandon obsessively HATES pink. Everything must be blue or black or gray. My sis-in-law said she was in line with my brother to buy some stuff and grabbed a pink pen for herself. My brother apparently commented on the color, and she said, “Look, I live with 3 guys. I’m taking the pink where I can get it, OK?!”

Tea parties – Brandon will do this happily so long as food is involved and it’s all got to do with something intergalactic.

Frilly dresses – Well, YOU can always wear them— just prepare to be mocked [and not just by them].

Fruity drinks – Neither of mine will drink anything ‘foreign’

Dolls – Obviously, not having dolls in your house, you’d be unaware that boys love dolls. As Brandon could show you, they hurtle really well through ‘space’ after having been zapped thoroughly by ‘the Force.’

And, I have to ask—- SMURFS? A BOY CARTOON?! Come on, woman! Spiderman, the X-men, Superman, Batman, and even Krypto the Wonderdog are boy cartoons. LOL

Ok, by the time I got to cartoons, I figured no one would still be reading. Yes, I left out some major ones. However, I do feel I got my point across.

We do have a doll. His name is Hermie. He started as a she in pink clothing. We changed the clothing into Luke’s old newborn outfit. I’ll have to find pictures of him. LOL

LOL I just had to laugh at Smurfs being listed. I would never have thought of that as a boy cartoon. Really, I don’t guess I think of it as a girl cartoon, either. I tend to think its appeal is more for people so high that they think their feet are made of jello. 😉 All that to say that my kids do watch and enjoy it from time to time, too!

Being the only female in an all-male household is definitely a unique challenge. Fortunately, though, you have the good humor for it!

Amen to that, Tammy. My hubby has come in handy a whole lot. Especially when I ask him the questions, “So is that really normal or is there something wrong with him?” LOL

LOVE IT!!

I have actually stood back in awe at some of the train tracks I have made. Nothing short of pure engineering genius!

Having a boy first has definitely made me more mellow. The Lord knew what he was doing with me. If I had Victoria first … well let’s just say that would have been the end to the brunette Kim and gray-headed Kim would have come on the scene. She might have also been the only child. Oh that child.

I get my testosterone relaxant fix from Riley so that I can deal with the estrogen surge running towards named Victoria.

For the record, the mustard was hidden behind some Quiche looking stuff that I wasn’t going to touch! 🙂

Was it in the fridge? I rest my case. 😛

Heeheee… wanna swap for a day? It might be fun. On second thought – no, that’s ok – I’ll keep my girlie household. As I look around my living room at the baby dolls, the dress up clothes, the baby bed, the pom poms, and the pink jackets. As much as I hate pink – I can’t imagine dealing with “boy stuff” I do understand the testosterone relaxation thing. Because there is NO SUCH THING as relaxing with squeeling girls.

Leave a comment