My Teachable Moment of the Day

Posted on: December 12, 2008

I’ve found that I often have moments where I open my mouth and cram my foot so far down that I’m not sure how I can breathe. Today was one of those moments.

We are at Wal-Mart (I know…just being in Wal-Mart kind of makes you a target for opening your mouth and inserting your foot). Anywho, I was filling Jack’s prescription and wasting time by picking up a few odds and ends.

Jack felt horrible, and I was really ready to get out of there. I went to get the medicine, and I was informed at how much it was going to cost. Holy Guacamole. Did they spill little flecks of gold into that medicine??

Hearing the steep price for a 10-day supply of once-a-day medicine, I promptly asked if this was the generic form. Alas, it was. Right next to me, a woman was checking out, and I heard the cashier tell her it would be $8 for two prescriptions. Under my breath, I said, “That must be nice.”

What the heck was I thinking? I don’t even know what kind of medicine she is getting. What if it was for something potentially fatal? What if it was a condition she had been challenged with her whole life? What if it was for her child that she would give anything to have healed?

Why must I open my mouth and insert my foot? Honestly, I don’t think anyone around me heard me, but I know God did. He heard the words before the thought left my head and came out of my mouth.

It is times like these where I wonder why God wants me to type up something so insignificant as my idiotic blurb for all of the internet to see. At first, I thought it may be therapeutic. Perhaps it is to show just how human I am…like there was ever any doubt. LOL Maybe it is just so everyone can witness my teachable moment and not make the same mistake as me.

I hope someday He will let me in on that secret. I’d love to know why He makes us constantly step out of our comfort zone. I guess the biggest “comfort” I should have is knowing that with each step I take I’m moving closer to Him.

“In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps.” Proverbs 16:9

“Show me your ways, O LORD, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Remember, O LORD, your great mercy and love, for they are from of old. Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to your love remember me, for you are good, O LORD. Good and upright is the LORD; therefore he instructs sinners in his ways. He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way. All the ways of the LORD are loving and faithful for those who keep the demands of his covenant. For the sake of your name, O LORD, forgive my iniquity, though it is great. Who, then, is the man that fears the LORD? He will instruct him in the way chosen for him.” Psalm 25:4-12

3 Responses to "My Teachable Moment of the Day"

I share your pain. Elisabeth got a diagnosis yesterday of bronchitis. Her antibiotic wasn’t available in generic, so we got 3 medicines for $65.

My first response was, “Woof, that’s some expensive illness.” I said it jokingly, but still. I’m thankful that it’s something so minor— goodness knows we’ve been through far more with her than a mild case of bronchitis and congestion.

I think that was a good teachable moment. It really spoke to me. God sees the bigger picture all the time. And being more Christ-like starts at our core, our initial thought, our initial reaction. The potter’s hand molds us at that moment to be more like him, to react, to think, to be. For Him to reveal that to you … that is just your Lord at work on you at your core. Very cool stuff!!

oh do I feel your pain everytime I have to go. Makaylas meds were only $14 this week which was a blessing but mine are $50 a month and when Devin had his they were over $250 and his was WITH insurance. Crazy stuff.

We all have to learn lessons daily Jess… otherwise there wouldnt be a purpose to our living. The best part is the “learning” and the “teaching” so others can learn from our mistakes!

Leave a comment